Disney+ Plans Expansion Across 42 Countries By Summer 2022

1 Mins read

Disney+ is launching across 11 territories and 42 counties this summer.  

Although Disney hasn’t specified the exact date, the expansion and launch are predicted to positively affect Disney’s subscriber growth. The platform currently streams across 64 countries including the United States.

The full list of countries includes Albania, Algeria, Andorra, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Iraq, Israel, Jordan, Kosovo, Kuwait, Latvia, Lebanon, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Montenegro, Morocco, North Macedonia, Oman, Palestine, Poland, Qatar, Romania, San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Slovakia, South Africa, Tunisia, Turkey, UAE, Vatican City and Yemen.

The news comes after Disney revealed they had plans to more than double the number of countries to 160 by its fiscal year 2023. The company also plans on expanding its direct-to-customer (D2C) business globally and is at the same time creating a new International Content and Operations group which will aid in the expansion.

Disney also announced they had a total of 179 million subscriptions across Hulu, Disney+ and ESPN+. It launched in 2019 and has been a top competitor among Amazon Prime Video, Netflix and other streaming platforms.  

55 posts

About author
A creative writer whose articles cut across Technology, Lifestyle, Architecture and Fashion.
Gain in-demand tech skills at Primus Learning

We teach, we hire and we employ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.